Geography of Crete

Geography of Crete

Crete is the largest Greek island. It is home to more than six hundred thousand people. Geographically, it includes eighty-four more satellite islands that form an archipelago - a group of islands centered on Crete.


On many of these patches of land, monuments of the most outstanding events of various historical eras have been perfectly preserved. Ancient monasteries, churches that forced the period of early Christianity, the majestic walls of medieval castles, amazing natural attractions, the richest sea world, all this allows you to fully plunge into the Mediterranean world, enjoy its brightness and diversity.


The archipelago also includes the islet of Gavdos, located thirty kilometers south of Crete. It is the only one, escept of Crete itself, of course, which is inhabited and famous for being the southernmost point of Europe. This fact attracts many guests to this island, whose population is less than a hundred people.


Administratively, Crete is divided into four areas (from west to east):


  • Chania. The most western region of the island, with the capital in the city of the same name.

  • Rethymno is located east of the city of Chania. The capital of this area is the city of Rethymno.

  • Heraklion. The largest region of Crete. The city of Heraklion is the official capital of the island.

  • Lassithi. The easternmost region of Crete, known for its high plateau. The capital of the region is the city of Agios Nikolaos.


All four capitals of the regions of Crete are located on the northern coast of the island. This is the most convenient location in terms of maritime communications between Crete and other Greek islands, as well as the continental part of the country.


Copyright © Guide4you





7, Zografou, 712 01, Iraklio,

Crete, Greece